How Much Is Enough In 2014?

Hope everyone had a happy New Year and are ready to embrace 2014. Now that the holiday season is over and many have gone back to work, it can be easy to get back into the same old routine and lose momentum on your New Year plans (including sticking to your new year’s resolution – generally it is not too late to continue doing it even if you have been a little slack so far!). It can also be easy to lose sight of what is important, even straight after a period when we tend to reflect and think more about the important things. It may be worthwhile to ask yourself now how much is enough this year?

My relatively short adventure with minimalism so far has already shown me some of the real benefits that it entails, such as reducing stress, having more free time and money, and being more focused (although still a long way to go on this one!). It seems to me that by asking how much is enough and really thinking about it is the way to start feeling these benefits. How many possessions do I need to feel comfortable? Do I really need something new, or do I already have enough? How much free time do I need to accomplish my goals? Do I need to earn more money to be happy? If so, how much more and why? Do I already have enough to be content and follow my dreams?

Without really thinking about this question, it is unlikely we will satisfied as you have no real idea of what is enough. We are more likely to feel discontent and believe that we just need more to be happy, without questioning why we would be happy with more. It is easy to shift back into our default mode of unconsciously following what our consumer culture encourages us to do – buy more! By asking this question now and throughout the year, it may help us to reflect on the important things and decide over time how much is really enough.

3 thoughts on “How Much Is Enough In 2014?

  1. Great writing, mate!

    This is truly an age of excessive consumerism. I myself was both astonished and surprised when I found about this concept. Truly, one of a kind. The experience.

    Greed is the driver when you think material possessions in consumerism lights. Nothing is ever enough and nothing will be.Car, big car, bigger car, biggest car. The chain never ends.

    Great to connect with you.

    Would love your feedback on my blog. Would love to hear from a fellow minimalist!

    • Thanks, Hardik. I agree that we are living in an age of excessive consumerism. Buying new possessions seems to provide a short-term buzz, but ultimately does not satisfy us in the long-run. Without boundaries, we believe there is always something better we can have which will make us happy. I will certainly have a look at your blog soon!

      • True that. And often we sacrifice, for those small term gain. That short rush.

        Glad to connect with you, keep in touch!

Leave a comment