Turning 29 Tomorrow

It’s that time of year again. I swear they seem to come around quicker each time! It is strange to think that I am only one year off 30. The question is how do I feel about it? To be honest, I am not entirely sure. And here’s why.

There is a part of me that does not mind. What is another year? It is not as if our birthday hits and all of a sudden I have just gained one year in a flash. If I was living in South Korea, I would already be 29, as everyone’s age is set at the first day of the new year. I am technically 28 years and 364 days old today if we really want to examine my age! Not that far off 29 years and 0 days is it?

There is also a part of me that looks kind of forward to it. I have lived for 29 years. I have survived my teenage and most of my twenties. Although there are a lot of freedoms at those ages, it is also one of the most challenging times, trying to work out who we are and what we want. I still feel kind of similar, but with more confidence now. It is nice to think that I have developed as a person, starting to get more direction in life, and looking forward to see how it shapes up.

However, there is also a part of me that isn’t looking forward to it (maybe life doesn’t get less confusing!). The idea that I am approaching the end of my twenties is kind of sad. I know that age is just a number, but the thought still has a negative association with it. Perhaps it is beginning  to accept that I am entering a new time of my life, and having to leave my twenties. Perhaps there is a feeling that I should do more with my twenties before they are over. But why? And how would I achieve that?

As you can see, a mixture of feelings! Trying to be a minimalist, how do I remove the excess here to help me navigate through this? I don’t really know the answer. What I am going to take away from this is I have achieved some great things go far; I have adopted an appreciation for minimalism; I am finally living and working in the States; I have travelled parts of Europe and Asia; I have got a degree in economics; and I have been reading a good number of books these last 3-4 years. I should appreciate these things and celebrate how far I have come over these last few years.

Perhaps the nagging feeling about doing more in my twenties should be taken in context. It suggests I should be doing more? Minimalism is focusing on what is important by removing things that distract us from them. Maybe it is about wanting to do more, but more what? More personal development? More confident? More time spent on the important things? Or is it that I want to do more things I truely want to do? Maybe I have only scratched the surface…

Whatever it is, I hope it becomes more apparent to me soon. There was a very interesting blog post I read recently about someone who gave up shopping for new items for a year on their 29th birthday! It may not be as drastic as this, but who knows?

One thing is for certain; I want to continue my commitment to embracing life, and figuring this out will be part of the ride!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

