Why the Lack of Posts?

So I haven’t been the best in posting regularly on here. Before I had made the move to America, I was certain that I would be providing updates on here regularly. I thought with all the new experiences and seeing capitalism in its most apparent form, I would have a lot to blog about. Turns out, at the moment at least, I do not feel that much different to how I was back in England. However, the difference is that I do not know as much people over here, so organising activities is harder to do. On top of that, it can be an isolating experience at times. So, was this move a mistake?

I don’t think so. I think that it can take a while to settle in, especially when I have not even moved to Manhattan yet; finding an apartment at the moment is like trying to find a needle in a haystack (will explain the whole story in another post). I guess I thought before moving here that it would take a while, but I don’t think I appreciated how long it can feel. I do know a few people here, but none of them live in the city I live in. The last person I knew recently moved to another town about an hour away, and my company is actually relocating very soon. Essentially, I will be isolated here until I move into Manhattan with my room mate.

I would be working remotely most of the time anyway, so this is not an issue in itself. The issue will be that I will be in my apartment most of the time. Although I am happy to retreat here after a full day of work or when I am returning from the weekend, to be here permanently during the week seems like a haunting thought. Perhaps it won’t be that bad for the first couple of weeks. I do actually think I would be more productive working in my own environment. The trouble will be when the reality sinks in – I am on my own in this city.

The last couple of weeks have been fairly frustrating. Putting in effort to find an apartment, looking around at different ones, and ending up with nothing can be pretty demoralising. Work has been picking up over the last couple of weeks, which does not help when you have to invest time into sorting out a new place to live. There is also a deadline too – the apartment I am currently staying in will be unavailable sometime in October; I am living on a flexible, short term contract, which suited me fine when I moved in as the plan was to move into Manhattan shortly. The landlord is planning to move into the place in October, so I will need to move out by then.

Although this is a testing period for me, I will try to keep posting regularly again. I am hoping this is just a short-term blip in the grand scheme of things. There are definitely advantages of living over here, namely the summer is actually summer here; most days are blue skies and hot temperatures. Compared to the UK, this is much nicer. I have been walking more since being here, as I walk into work each day which adds up to at least an hour each day, plus my standard 30 minute lunch strolls.

Even though I am finding this hard, I believe things will get better. Big changes like this do require effort. If it all fails, what is the worst? I move back to England, which would not be the end of the world. But what if I manage to make the transition? You just never know until you go for it. Whether it works out or not, at least I can say I went for it!

Leave a Reply

